• Search
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

President’s Day update

The Society announced the winners of its medals and funds for 2021

31 May 2021

The Society announced the winners of its medals and funds for 2021 in the Spring edition: Prof David Pollard (Wollaston Medal); Prof Nicholas White (Lyell Medal); Prof Graham Pearson (Murchison Medal); Dr Philip Christie (William Smith Medal); Prof Sanjeev Gupta (Prestwich Medal); Prof Kenneth McCaffrey (Dewey Medal); Prof Chris Jackson (Coke Medal); Dr Helen Reeves (Coke Medal); Dr Sheila Peacock (Distinguished Service Award); Dr Anjana Khatwa (R H Worth Award); Prof Marie Edmonds (Bigsby Medal); Dr Caroline Gill (Aberconway Medal); Dr Emma Liu (Wollaston Fund); Dr Luke Parry (Lyell Fund); Dr Andrew Thomson (Murchison Fund); Dr Fabian Wadsworth (William Smith Fund); Dr Finnigan Illsley-Kemp (President’s Award); and Dr Jazmin Scarlett (President’s Award).

The Awards will be presented at President’s Day on 25 June 2021 in a virtual ceremony. The presentations will be followed by talks from some of the medallists (see information box below). All Fellows are welcome to attend the events of President’s Day, in whole or part.

The link for registration is available on the Awards pages of the Geological Society website and in our newsletters. Alternatively, please email christina.marron@geolsoc.org.uk


3.30pm-4.45pm BST – Awards Ceremony

5pm-6.30pm BST – Senior medalists talks: Prof Graham Pearson
(University of Alberta, Canada); Prof Nicholas White (University of Cambridge, UK);
and Prof David Pollard (Stanford University, USA)

Related articles