• Search
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Society Awards 2023

We are delighted to announce this year’s Geological Society Award winners.

1 March 2023

The Society and Geoscientist offer whole-hearted congratulations to all 2023 medal and fund recipients.

Name Affiliation Award
Prof Kathy Whaler  University of Edinburgh Wollaston Medal
Prof Peter Clift Louisiana State University Lyell Medal
Dr Mathilde Cannat Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris Murchison Medal
Dr Karen Hanghøj British Geological Survey  William Smith Medal
Dr Teal Riley British Antarctic Survey Prestwich Medal
Prof Robert Holdsworth University of Durham Dewey Medal
Prof Jenni Barclay University of East Anglia Coke Medal
Dr Steve Etches The Etches Collection Coke Medal
John Talbot Distinguished Service Award
Seds Online Seds Online R H Worth Medal
Prof Stephen Barker Cardiff University Bigsby Medal
Dr Andrew Hart Atkins Aberconway Medal  


Emily Swaby Open University Wollaston Fund
Dr Hana Jurikova  University of St Andrews Lyell Fund
Dr Penny Wieser University of California, Berkeley Murchison Fund
Dr Samantha Engwell British Geological Survey  William Smith Fund
Dr Hannah Buckland Swansea University President’s Award
David Whitworth Keele University President’s Award

Related articles