• Search
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Geological Society awards

The Society is delighted to announce the names of the winners of its medals and funds for 2021

1 March 2021

The Society offers all its wholehearted congratulations.


Name Affiliation Award
Prof David Pollard Stanford University Wollaston Medal
Prof Nicholas White University of Cambridge Lyell Medal
Prof Graham Pearson University of Alberta Murchison Medal
Dr Phil Christie Schlumberger Cambridge Research William Smith Medal
Prof Sanjeev Gupta Imperial College London Prestwich Medal
Prof Kenneth McCaffrey University of Durham Dewey Medal
Prof Chris Jackson Imperial College London Coke Medal
Dr Helen Reeves Jacobs Coke Medal
Dr Sheila Peacock Blacknest (AWE) Distinguished Service Award
Dr Anjana Khatwa Wessex Museums, UK R H Worth Medal
Prof Marie Edmonds University of Cambridge Bigsby Medal
Dr Caroline Gill Shell UK (Limited) Aberconway Medal
Dr Emma Liu University College London Wollaston Fund
Dr Luke Parry University of Oxford Lyell Fund
Dr Andrew Thomson University College London Murchison Fund
Dr Fabian Wadsworth University of Durham William Smith Fund
Dr Finnigan Illsley-Kemp Victoria University of Wellington President’s Award
Dr Scarlett Jazmin President’s Award


President’s Day Awards

The Awards will be presented on President’s Day on 25 June 2021. It is likely that some restrictions will be in place in June, so we are planning a virtual event. Further updates on President’s Day will follow in newsletters and on the website, so please keep an eye out. On the day, talks will be given by some of the senior medallists, which Fellows will be able to attend virtually.


Related articles